Safe railways for Australia

Board and executive

Sue McCarrey – Chief Executive

Sue McCarrey was appointed as Australia’s National Rail Safety Regulator in November 2014. Under her leadership, ONRSR is maturing into a fully fledged national operation that is facilitating a safe, efficient and prosperous Australian rail industry.

Julie Bullas – Executive Director, Policy, Reform and Stakeholder Engagement

Julie has had over 35 years' experience leading policy development, reform and major change projects at an executive level across all levels of government, and within the rail industry including leading the implementation of the national rail reform and establishing the Office of the National Rail Safety Regulator. 

Peter Doggett – Executive Director, National Operations

Peter has had nearly 30 years' experience in the Australian rail industry where he has combined leadership roles and practical operational experience with a focus on risk management including the role of Chief Operating Officer of TransAdelaide.

Simon Foster – Executive Director, Technical

Simon brings over 35 years of technical and leadership experience in rail covering track, fleet, operations, stations and communications which includes being part of the team that coordinated the successful operation of rail services for the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games.

Jodie Lindsay – Executive Director, Corporate

Jodie is an experienced Chief Financial Officer and Corporate Services executive with over 30 years of experience in managing complex and multifaceted service based organisations across a variety of industries and sectors. Jodie is a fellow of CPA Australia.

Peter Batchelor – Non-executive member

Peter Batchelor brings an extensive knowledge of government obtained through his 20 years as a member of the Victorian Parliament. During this time Peter held senior positions including Minister for Transport, Minister for Energy & Resources, Minister for Community Development, Minister for Major Projects and Minister for Arts.

Peter is currently the President of the Community Broadcasting Foundation which funds community radio and television stations around Australia.

Catherine Scott – Non-executive member

Catherine Scott is an experienced Non-Executive Director and has also operated as Deputy Chair across a portfolio of entities, including Government business enterprises. Her career combines investment banking and corporate experience in transport, infrastructure, natural resources and agriculture.

Her key areas of expertise are in risk management, finance, strategic planning and corporate governance. She held the role of Deputy Chair and Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee of VLine Passenger Pty Limited, amongst other relevant appointments.

Last updated: 10 May 2018