Safe railways for Australia

Organisation structure

The Office of the National Rail Safety Regulator (ONRSR) is created under the Rail Safety National Law (RSNL) of participating jurisdictions.

The ONRSR legally consists of the National Rail Safety Regulator who is also the Chief Executive, and two part-time non-executive members whose functions are laid out in the RSNL.

The ONRSR is supported by an executive team .


The National Rail Safety Regulator is based in Adelaide and is supported by branch offices .

Last updated: 30 November 2016